100 GO-TO eats in Brisbane based on your #FOODMOOD


Food mood, it’s real. You know when you say, “I’ll eat anything” but low-key, c’mon you won’t be eating just anything. Somewhere deep in your subconscious resides a small innately stubborn part of you, triggered at any mention of food and where it will be consumed. To paint the picture, I am 70% likely to be in the car when this happens. Dropping dead fuel, making suggestions with my shotgun rider, none of which are satisfactory to my secretly set criteria, and where do I end up? Paying $10 for a plate of carbs I’ve eaten three times this week. So to do us all a solid we’ve curated some of Brisbane’s best food faves to satisfy some of the most common #FOODMOODS. Best use? When you’re driving around on the verge of a first-world mental break-down. Pull over. We got you.

MOOD: CHEAP AND CASJ(UAL)

Cheap thrills for your weeknight dinner dates. 

Muchos Mexicano | Shop 15, Little Stanley Street, South Brisbane | @muchomexicanobne

Betty’s Burgers | Westfield Chermside and Newstead Gasworks | @bettys_burgers

Vietnamese Mint | 180 Oxford Street, Bulimba | @vietnamesemint

Little Greek Taverna | 1 Browning Street, West End | @littlegreektaverna

Miel Container | 72/88 Mary Street, Brisbane City | @mielcontainer

The Yiros Shop | Grey Street, Edward Street, James Street | @theyirosshop

Eat Street Northshore | 221D MacArthur Ave, Hamilton | @eatstreet

Gnocchi Gnocchi Brothers | 210 Given Terrace, Paddington | @gnocchignocchibrothers

Beach Burrito Co. West End | 100 Boundary Street, West End | @beachburritoco

Mucho Mexicano

MOOD: I WANT TO SPEND MY HOUSE DEPOSIT TODAY*

*Read: all the places to get an AMAZING drop of coffee, killer avo smash and all the other holy grail brunch bites.

Deedot Coffee House | 973 Logan Road, Holland Park West | @deedotcoffee

Blackstar Coffee | 44 Thomas Street, West End | @blackstarcoffeeroasters

The Jam Pantry | 2/575 Logan Road, Greenslopes | @thejampantry

Little Loco | 121 Merthyr Road, New Farm | @littlelococafe

The Smug Fig Cafe | 999 Stanley Street East, East Brisbane | @smugfig

Lucky Duck Espresso | 15 Gladstone Road, Highgate Hill | @luckyduck_cafebar

Morning After | 57 Vulture Street, West End | @__morningafter

Little Sista Cafe | 5/148 Chatsworth Road, Greenslopes | @littlesistacafe

Bazil and Co | 73 Landsborough Ave, Scarborough | @bazil_and_co

Brown Dog Cafe | @browndogcafe54 Logan Road, Woolloongabba |

The Blue Poppy | 32 Asquith Street, Morningside | @bluepoppycoffee

NYC Bagel Deli | 57 Vulture Street, West End | @nycbageldeli

Goodness Gracious | 250 Oxley Road, Graceville | @goodnessgraciousbrisbane

NYC Bagel Deli

MOOD: CLEAN EATS & THE “I’M BEING GOOD” DAYS

SUKI  | Bulimba, Southbank and Newstead Gasworks | @sukirestaurants

Miss Bliss Whole Foods Kitchen | 85 Vulture Street, West End | @missblissau

Botanica Real Food | 9/1 Enoggera Terrace, Red Hill | @botanicarealfood

Charlie’s Raw Squeeze | Greenslopes, Ashgrove, Clayfield, Kenmore, Morningside, Everton Park | @rawsqueeze

Sourced Grocer | 11 Florence St, Newstead | @sourcedgrocer

The Purple Berry | 145 Boundary St, West End | @thepurpleberrybrisbane

SUKI POKE BOWLS

MOOD: BEERS AND BURGERS WITH THE BOYS OR GALS

Fritzenberger | 52 Petrie Terrace, Newstead | @fritzenbergerbne

Brewski | 22 Caxton Street, Brisbane City | @brewskibar

Ribs and Burgers | Woolloongabba and James St | @ribsandburgers

Ben’s Burgers | 5 Winn Street, Fortitude Valley | @bens_burgers

Greaser Bar | 259 Brunswick Street, Fortitude Valley | @greaserbar

The Charming Squire | 3/133 Grey Street, South Brisbane | @thecharmingsquire

Ze Pickle | 1 Prospect St, Fortitude Valley | @zepickle

Ze Pickle

MOOD: SOMETHING AESTHETIC, BECAUSE INSTAGRAM

From acai to perfectly stacked breakfast specials and poke bowls. We LOVE poke bowls.

Miss Jones | 1/599 Brunswick Street, New Farm | @missjones.cafe

Pineapple Express Cafe | Hamilton and James Street | @pineappleexpresscafe

Pawpaw Cafe | 898 Stanley Street East, Woolloongabba | @pawpawcafe

Coffee Anthology | 126 Margaret Street, Brisbane City | @coffeeanthology

Cheeky Poke Bar | 63 Skyring Terrace, Newstead | @cheekypokebar

Just Earth Coffee Roastery and Cafe | 29 Vulture Street, West End |@justearthfairtrade

Kiss the Berry | Southbank and Creek St, Brisbane City | @kisstheberry 

Coffee Anthology

MOOD: SOMETHING TO GOSSIP OVER / WEEKEND COCKTAIL VIBES

Comuna Catina | 175 Albert St, Brisbane City | @comunacatina

Covent Garden | 142 Boundary Street, West End | @coventgardenwe

Darling & Co. | 157 Given Terrace, Paddington | @darlingpaddington

Madame Wu | 71 Eagle Street, Brisbane City | @madamewubris

CRU Bar & Cellar | 1/22 James Street, Fortitude Valley | @crubar

Eleven Rooftop Bar | 757 Ann Street, Fortitude Valley | @elevenrooftopbar

Cork & Chroma | 44 Montague Road, South Brisbane (Booking required, an art class with BYO wine) | @corkandchromabrisbane

Mrs Brown’s Kitchen and Bar | 32 Commerical Road, Newstead | @mrsbrownsbar

WATT Bar | 119 Lamington St, New Farm | @wattbrisbane

Covent Garden

MOOD: I AM HUNGRY AND ON THE SOUTHSIDE

So this isn’t a mood, but if you hail from this side of town you’ll know finding a good cafe is a bit of a EUREKA moment…

Southside Bistro | 342 McCullough Street, Sunnybank | @ssbistrobne

Trocadero Long Bar | 71 – 73 Melbourne Street, South Brisbane | @thefoxhotel

St Coco Cafe | 3 Cupania Street, Daisy Hill | @stcococafe

Charles Baker Donuts & Coffee |  2647 Logan Road, Eight Mile Plains | @charlesbakerdonuts

Apples on Ainsworth | 36 Ainsworth Street, Salisbury | @apples_on_ainsworth 

The Rare Pear | 2/967 Logan Road, Holland Park West | @therarepear 

Todd and Pup | 398 Tarragindi Rd, Moorooka | @toddandpup

Kith ‘n’ Chow | 75 Clough Street, Mount Gravatt | @kithnchow

Julius Pizzeria | 77 Grey Street, South Brisbane | @juliuspizzeria

POPOLO Italian Kitchen and Bar |  Sidon Street, River Quay | @popolobrisbane

Ol’ School | 58 Hope St, South Brisbane | @olschool.co

Esher Street Cafe and Deli | 46 Esher Street Tarragindi | @esherst

Southside Bistro

MOOD: THAI PLS!

LONgTIME | 610 Ann Street, Fortitude Valley | @longtimerestaurant

Banana Leaf | East Brisbane and Camp Hill | @banana.leaf.restaurant

Phat Elephant | 7/280 Queen Street, Brisbane City | @phatelephant

LONgTIME

MOOD: DIET STARTS TOMORROW

Cowch Dessert and Cocktail Bar | 2/179 Grey Street, South Brisbane | @cowchofficial 

Chester Street Bakery | 32A Chester Street, Newstead | @chesterstreetbakery

La Macelleria Gelateria | West End and Newstead | @lamacelleriagelateria

Gelato Messina | 1/109 Melbourne Street, South Brisbane | @gelatomessina

Sonder Dessert | 7c Farne Street, Sunnybank Hills | @sonderdessert

Sugo Mi Gelateria | 3/190 Oxford Street, Bulimba | @sugomi_pizzeria

Doughnut Time | Fortitude Valley, Clayfield, East Brisbane, Albert Street, King George Square, Everton Park, South Bank, Mount Gravatt East, Boondall, Browns Plains, Westfield Chermside *exhale* (basically a lot of places) | @doughnuttime

Gelato Messina

MOOD: STEAK WOULD BE NICE

Les Bubbles | 144 Wickham Street, Fortitude Valley | @lesbubbles

Moo Moo The Wine Bar + Grill | 39 Edward Street, Brisbane City | @moomoorestaurant 

Cha Cha Char | Shop 5/1 Eagle Street, Brisbane City | @chachacharest

Vintaged Bar and Grill | 6/190 Elizabeth Street, Brisbane City | @vintagedgrill

Les Bubbles

MOOD: FEELING TAPAS

Gerard’s Bar | 13a/23 James Street, Fortitude Valley | @gerardsbar

Canvas | 16, Logan Road, Woolloongabba | @canvasbrisbane

Toro Bravo | 455 Brunswick Street, Fortitude Valley | @torobravobrisbane

Olé Restaurant | Little Stanley Street, South Brisbane | @olerestaurant

Peasant Restaurant | 5-61 Petrie Terrace, Brisbane City | @peasantrestaurant

Olé Restaurant

MOOD: FRIED CHICKEN & AMERICAN EATS

If you love a good American eatery, click here for some we prepared earlier.

The Defiant Duck | 3/84 Longland Street, Brisbane | @thedefiantduck

Brooklyn Depot | 168 Grey Street, South Brisbane | @brooklyndepot

Hello Chicken | 6/20 King Street, Bowen Hills | @the.hello.chicken

4FINGERS | Gympie Rd & Hamilton Road, Chermside | @4fingers.au

Southern Attitude | 2/189 Oxford Street, Bulimba | WEBSITE

Lucky Egg | 27 Warner St, Fortitude Valley | @luckyeggfc

The Flying Cock | 388 Brunswick Street, Fortitude Valley | @theflyingcock

Lucky Egg

MOOD: SOMETHING DATE NIGHT APPROPRIATE

Also, a reminder. Valentine’s Day is nigh.

The Balfour Kitchen | 37 Balfour Street, New Farm | @spicersbalfour

Otto Ristorante | 4/480 Queen Street, Brisbane City | @ottoristorante

Harvey’s Bar and Bistro | 4/31 James Street, Fortitude Valley | @harveysbistro

Il Verde | 2 King Street, Bowen Hills | @ilverde_kingst

The Spaghetti House Trattoria | Little Stanley Street & Grey Street, South Brisbane | @the_spaghettihouse

Chow House | 39 James Street, Fortitude Valley | @chow_house

Saké Restaurant and Bar | 45 Eagle Street, Brisbane City | @sakerestaurant 

Beccofino | 10 Vernon Terrace, Teneriffe | @beccofinoteneriffe

Bucci Restaurant & Bar | 11/15 James St, Fortitude Valley | @buccibrisbane

1889 Enoteca | 10-12 Logan Road, Woolloongabba | @1889enoteca

Tinderbox Kitchen | 7/31 James Street, Fortitude Valley | @tinderboxkitchen

Montrachet | Shop 1/30 King Street, Bowen Hills | @montrachet_restaurant

Eve’s on the River | 53 Vernon Terrace, Teneriffe@evesontheriver

The Spaghetti House Trattoria

What’s your GO-TO when you’re in a #FOODMOOD?! Write to us on Instagram @brisbanethreads!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *